02
Feb
12

Looking forward to 1976

The Taiwanese indie band 1976 seems enigmatic to me. I came to like them by cherry-picking five or six songs off their ‘Asteroid’ album on iTunes. Then when I was in Taiwan 6 weeks ago I went looking for more albums, for they’ve done a few. I found their latest album easily enough, but I had hard luck finding any of their older albums which I’m really dying to get hold of (not so hard with other indie acts like Tizzy Bac and The Chairman). When I walked into a second-hand record shop, I asked the shopkeeper about 1976, and he scoffed, as if anyone could find one of their old records! It must be like digging for diamonds under the streets of Taipei!

Anyways, I’m mighty impressed with their latest album, which in mandarin is ‘Buheshiyi’ but the English name to the corresponding song is ‘Manic Pixie Dream Girl’. I think it’s a reference to a certain type of offbeat female character in modern cinema. In fact, I wonder if the whole album is cinema-inspired as other songs share movie titles, ‘A Clockwork Orange’ being the most obvious.

It sounds like a well produced album with more synthesizer and keyboard sounds infused with many of the songs. Even one song is mixed with an assortment of sounds affects -helicopters, running water, falling coins, ringing cell phone and a car siren to name a few…However, I’d still say it’s guitar-driven and I can  definitely hear influences of early Radiohead in a couple of the songs.
 But it’s the songwriting and the impassioned vocals in the indie/postrock/Britrock style that endear me to this album and to the band in general. I’m definitely going to keep a look out for their older albums. (I’d forgotten I’d checked out their old Myspace page which has tracks from a 2000 album: http://www.myspace.com/mod1976tw )

http://www.facebook.com/1976band

 

 

1 Response to “Looking forward to 1976”


  1. February 3, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Great blog man! Nice to see the love for Taiwan and Taiwanese music!


Leave a Reply

