01
May
10

Streaming in royalties… (cartoon)

 

I originally did this cartoon after getting a vibe of disappointment from musos about digital streaming services and the ridiculous amount of spins one needs to generate a modest income. I thought I was exaggerating until I came across the Lady Gaga story with Spotify -I’m not sure how true it is but it seems the percentage in my cartoon is better than the rate Lady Gaga received!

By the way the ‘Digital Royalty Payout Office’ is just a figment of my imagination for comic effect… as is the fact that many of my characters are chain smokers and drinkers, and indulge in their habits with impunity (I’m not a smoker if you’re wondering).

(http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2010/apr/18/sam-leith-downloading-money-spotify)

