11
Dec
09

Indignant about article on how to bundle articles digitally

Came across this article looking at bundling music in the digital age

(http://www.billboard.biz/bbbiz/content_display/industry/e3iefbf4e9d9f602fce4fcff4edc72877ee)

In a way it talks openly about how to rip off the customer. Ever bought a CD of a band or artist you heard on the radio only to find that 7 or 8 out of 10 of the songs were duds. I’ve done that a few times.

Luckily the best bands are the ones that make good albums -they survive. But feeling shortchanged when an album has more than half ‘unplayable’ songs can be frustrating.

The article made some good points, but it’s the tone of it I suppose that got under my skin, such as:
“this tendency of consumers to pick a song or two instead of the entire album is an erosive force to revenues that has not subsided”.

Will I’m sorry I didn’t waste money on your pathetic fillers!

And here’s a suggestion:
“…consider different types of bundles, or removing the consumer’s ability to unbundle an album.”

Anyway, I’ve done a few cartoons…

And another one…

