22
Aug
09

A song called ‘Here’

One thing about living in Asia and especially China, is that I couldn’t help notice the difference in style of popular songwriting. They like their melodies sweet, chordal structures ‘cute’ and everything well-balanced.  It’s different to the blues influenced music of Australia and especially the wild, earthy sounds of Aussie pub-rock.

Anyway, I sometimes let it influence the way I was writing at the time, and this song ‘Here’, as well as another song called ‘Winter in Shenyang’ which I’ll upload soon, are examples of that.

Lyrics:

I can’t believe I’m standing here now
A long long way from home
A long long time has gone

Longings of affection are sown
A long long way from home
And when these days are gone…

CHORUS
And the memories bring me back to you
About me and you
They all flood back
But what can I do?

Never have I felt so alone
The winter sheds its snow
The willows dry and cold

And though your face is bright in my heart
It’s glow begins to slow
And when these days are gone…

CHORUS

Copyright 2009 Donak RV

