03
Aug
09

More on music crisis

Another aspect of the new music crisis is for us generation-Xers, we’ve heard almost everything, or it seems like it. Many of us have tasted almost all genres, and been through all the different phases and fades and we’ve picked and chosen the bits that we like.

 

Well, I am speaking for myself primarily, but I’m sure it’s the same with many others my age. I believe music has become a stable to my generation -it’s important to us and we take it for granted. So, speaking from my experience, this is my exposure to genres:

 

My first exposure to music (apart from reaching 4th grade violin in Suzuki) was from elder siblings with their Beatles and their Wings and their Cat Stevens and their Supertramp etc. etc…

 

Them my first passion for pop was with the Bon Jovi explosion ‘Slippery when Wet’, and there was Paul Simon’s Gracelands that impressed me as well. From memory, U2’s Rattle and Hum was also huge at the time -so it was pop that first got my attention.

 Il4 crisis mus tastes

But hanging out with musos at school, I was introduced to cool sixties -Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, Cream, the Doors etc… And you had to have a T-shirt. Some friends also rubbed off on me with Metallica, though that’s as far as my head-banging went.

 

Then my friend’s sister introduced me to British punk (Pistols, Clash, Damned etc…), and I went through that stage -as much for the fanzines and culture as the music itself. From that new wave I progressed to the Cure, of which I’m still a big fan. And I got into Prince.

 

By then I would have been well into my twenties, and had played in a couple of bands, so had covered odd songs from Bob Dylan to the Pixies. I’d also studied bits of jazz from my guitar teacher, and was back into some 80’s rock like Van Halen and Toto, and I was also well into Aus rock like ACDC and classic Cold Chisel.

 

In my late twenties I was exploring some techno stuff like Underworld (saw their concert on SBS TV), bit of Bob Marley and Santana, which led to the ‘guitar-head’ of Joe Satriani and Steve Vai.

 

Since living overseas I frequently bought anything that seemed a good deal and was curious about, from John Maclauchlin to Kylie Minogue. I even bought the Paris Hilton CD to see what a wiz-bang producer could do with an amateur singer. I’ve got into some hiphop, ranging from Common to Eminem.

 

And in my host Asian countries where I’ve lived, I’ve also got into the local music (Wubai and The Chairman in Taiwan) and even traditional Asian music (which I like to practice Taichi to.)

 

Anyway, I find it’s hard to follow a particular direction. I’m more keen to go wandering into an Asian music store in China town and pick up a Jay Chou CD than to wander into the local. I still like Aussie music -Powderfinger for example, but I’m not passionate about Aussie rock any more, but I’m interested in the new local hiphop. I’ll also pick up the latest Prince or Cure album if I have the spare cash on me (which I haven’t lately), but I’m finding it difficult to attach to anything new.

 

And I don’t think the problem is because there’s nothing good. I think musicians have improved in songwriting and production -but every man and his dog is doing it, and there’s such a vast array available. But most can’t compete with the back catalogue of classics that’s easy to find -for in the past, all the dross has been removed, and the classics and cream of the crop remain. But in the current scene, it’s impossible to sift through to find something you feel is really classic.

