11
May
09

Lesson Four: Keep a Record.

(About recording and mixing my music)

Another thing about experimenting with affects, compression and EQ etc is that there’s no point stumbling on to a good sound if you can’t remember how to do it a second time. And considering there’s an infinite number of combinations with EQ, compression and other affects, then taking notes is essential. (Having said that I’m not always very detailed with my notes, like ‘Did some eq on this track…’).

I’ve also found it essential to keep track of all the different versions I may do of a song. For example, I may use electric guitar for the solo on one version, and acoustic guitar on another version. I may experiment with different keyboard sounds and how they work with the rest of the song. This could leave me with atleast four or five versions, and when I listen back, I need to have the details of what I’ve done to each song.

Also, even with some of the free effects that come with audacity, many have 8 or more different paramaters. So, I may experiment with digital delay for example, and in another song want to use a similar sound, so knowing how I got that sound with the specific parameters will save a lot of time.

My delving into recording and mixing has often caused me to feel overwhelmed at times, and the more everything is organised, from how my files are organised on my computer, to all the notes and everything I’ve made from recording (like what instrument on what track, what compression I recorded with, which mic etc) and with actions taken in Audacity, will help me navigate my way through to a finished demo.

